God’s timing vs. Our timing

As we come to the close of another year, people are in a mood of celebrating gifts and the incoming of a new year. But many lose sight of what this time of year is all about. We, even as Christians think that we gets gifts, we have a party for a new year….but do we ever stop and think about the reason we can do this. It is all about GOD! We turn this time that we are to be using to celebrate the birth of Jesus as a time for ourselves. Granted, this year, I too lost sight of the the real reason we got together…..but I received a book from my youth minister and it put things in a new light. My adult Sunday school class will also be starting a new study about being a church and being a church member, this too comes at God’s timing. He is letting us know that things are falling apart and we need to start acting like his body….his bride once again.

As I was reading the intro and first chapter of my new study book I Am A Church Member by Thom S. Rainer, I discovered a scary fact about my age group. Only 15% of my age group….those being born between 1980 and 2000, are Christians. This scared me because we are the largest age group there is and so few of us are in the church. God is calling us into a battle zone, and most of us don’t want to go in fear of being looked down upon by our peers. But those of us in the church need to stand, and place on the armor of God and prepare ourselves for a war that is looming in the air.

My prayer for this new year is that us that are in the age range and in the church, stand for God’s timing and trust in him in all that we do. He will guide us and if we let him into our hearts he will make us strong.

0e5be38002d08be107c87fd81e5137d6

3 comments on “God’s timing vs. Our timing

  1. Pingback: God’s timing vs. Our timing | Growing Up Toddler

Leave a Reply

